Canada book their ticket to World Rugby U20 Trophy with win against USA

Contributed Article: Pat Parfrey
Rugby 15s U20 Men

Canada defeated USA 23-5 in the final match of the two-game Junior World Trophy Qualifying series, booking their ticket to the World Rugby U20 Trophy in Brazil this July.

Canada came out to a huge start, holding USA scoreless in the first half. Pressure from Canada’s strong front row forced several USA errors and a huge showing at the scrum gave them the momentum in the first half.

Gabriel Casey started the scoring getting an inside ball from Brock Webster and running it in for the try. A USA penalty put Canada on the 5-metre line. Canada’s maul off the line out resulted in a try by Stefan Zuliani. Percillier ended the half with two conversions and a penalty kick to put Canada up 17-0 at the break.

The boot of Percillier added to Canada’s lead early in the second half, kicking for two penalties. A yellow card against Canada gave the advantage to USA and they used it, smashing over the line for their first and final score of the match.

The 2 weeks of preparation paid off for Canada as they outplayed USA in the set pieces and the defence was strong. In particular, shortcomings identified in game 1 were rectified. Particularly those involving tackling, discipline, and game management. The centre defence (Quinn Ngawati and Gabe Casey) was excellent as was that of backrow Will Matthews, Quentin James and Nick Carson. Tyler Duguid was magnificent in the loose.

“The major objective has been achieved, qualifying for the World Trophy,” commented Head Coach Jeff Williams. “Now the challenge is to win games at the tournament. I am optimistic because we have prepared better than last year.”


Canada's Roster:

1. Stefan Zuliani, Queens University, Ontario.

2. Jared Augustin, Queen’s University, Ontario.

3. Tyler Rowland, UBC, Ontario

4. Frank Carson , UBC, BC.

5. Tyler Duguid, Edmonton Norwesters, Alberta

6 Quentin James. Stade Francais, BC.

7. Will Matthews, Beaconsfield, Quebec.

8. Nick Carson, UVic, BC

9. Will Percillier, Stade Francais, BC.

10 Brock Webster, Oshawa Vikings, Ontario

11 Jarvis Dashkewytch, UVIC, BC

12 Quinn Ngawati, WestShore RC, BC.

13 Gabe Casey, UVIC, Ontario

14 David Richard, Mississauga Blues, Ontario

15 Thomas Isherwood, WestShore RC, Alberta

16 Mike McCarthy, Swilers RFC, Newfoundland.

17 Josh Tweed, UBC, BC.

18 Guerschom Mukendi, Stoney Creek RC, Ontario

19 Reid Davis, James Bay AA, BC

20 Siaki Vikilani, Burnaby, BC

21 Jack Carson, Castaway Wanderers, BC

22 James Biss, Saracens, England

23 Antoine de la Fontaine, Sherbrooke, Quebec

24 David Carson, UBC, BC

25 Brandon Hebert, Ste Anne de Bellvue RC, Quebec

26 Austin Pinnell, Norwesters, Alberta