Women’s U20 team named for the 2019 Tri-Nations

Bernadette Larose
Rugby 15s U20 Women

Canada’s Women’s Under-20 head coach Jack Hanratty has set his roster that will travel to England to compete in the Tri-Nations Cup from July 20-28, 2019.

Canada hosted the tournament last year, falling to England in the final match to come second. Hosted at Loughborough University, the Tri-Nations will be the years first international test for the Canadian squad following a training camp last month.  

The tournament serves as another talent ID opportunity for the National Senior Women’s team as they work towards the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup.

“The U20 age group is a pivotal steppingstone for our national identified athletes, which you can see with the number of graduates currently in the senior women’s squad,” said Hanratty. “We have an incredible amount of talent across the country at this age group and we have identified players from USport, Provincial programs, and sevens academies.”

Canada will be taking on USA on July 24th and England on July 28th. The Tri-Nations Cup will not be broadcast but score updates will be made available on the Rugby Canada website and social platforms. 

Canada’s Traveling Roster:
Maya Addai – Ottawa (Kanata) & Barrhaven Scottish (Ottawa, ON)
Lyric Atchison – UBC Thunderbirds (North Vancouver, BC)
Jasmine Baxter – Oshawa Vikings (Ajax, ON)
Justine Blatt-Jannmatt – Valley Bulldogs/Windsor Machine (Wolfville, NS)
Keegan Brantner – Lethbridge RFC (Lethbridge, AB)
Rayann D’Aguiar – Brampton Beavers (Caledon, ON)
Sophie De Goede – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Emma Feldinger – UBC Thunderbirds (Alex Creek)
Danielle Franada – Grande Prairie Sirens (Grande Prairie, AB)
Claudia Fulton – Valley Bulldogs RFC (Aylesford, NS)
Lizzie Gibson – Oakville Crusaders
Callie Harder – Uvic Vikings (Lillooet, BC)
Kally King – UBC Thunderbirds (Kamloops, BC)
Idia Ihensekhein – Oakville Crusaders (Milton,
Sarah-Maude Lachance – Club de Rugby de Quebec (Victoriaville, QC)
Brogan Mior – Foothills Lions (Okotoks, AB)
Maya Montiel – Ottawa Irish (Moncton, NB)
Hanna Nicholl – Toronto Nomads (Toronto, ON)
Angie Olukunmi – Calgary Irish (Calgary, AB)
Holly Phillips – Calgary Irish (Canmore, AB)
Berlyn Seselja – U of C Dinos (Surrey, BC)
Shoshanah Seumanutafa – UBC Thunderbirds
Alayna Scramstad – UBC Thunderbirds (Lashburn, SK)
Noemie Tremblay – Club de Rugby de Quebec (Quebec City, QC)
Rori Wood – UBC Thunderbirds (Sooke, BC)

Non-Travelling Reserves
Callie Eagleton – Calgary Irish (Calgary, AB)
Hannah Ellis – Halifax Tars (Halifax, NS)
Claire Gallagher – Aurora Barbarians (Caledon, ON)
Erin Geddie – Dinos River (Victoria, BC)
Aliesha Lewis – Guelph Redcoats
Gabrielle Plourde – Club de Rugby de Quebec (Quebec City, QC)
Nicola Smith – Uvic Vikings (Whiterock, BC)


Canada’s Schedule:

Wednesday, July 24
Canada vs USA-11am ET/8am PT

Loughborough University, England

Sunday, July 28
Canada vs England-11am ET/8am PT

Loughborough University, England