Rugby 15s Senior Men

Head coach Kingsley Jones has named 30-players of a 32- man squad that will travel to the UK in July for two test matches against Wales and England.

June 14, 2021 (Langford, BC) – Head coach Kingsley Jones has named 30 players of a 32- man squad that will travel to the UK in July for two test matches against Wales and England. Two (2) spots on the roster remain unfilled pending fitness tests as players continue to return from injury. This will be the first action for the senior men’s team since Rugby World Cup in 2019.

Canada will first play Wales on July 3rd at Principality Stadium in Cardiff.  The following week on July 10th Canada will face England at Twickenham Stadium in London. Jones will use these games against two of the world’s top sides as preparation for upcoming Rugby World Cup 2023 qualification matches this Fall. 

There is a heavy Major League Rugby (MLR) presence in the squad that features 25 players currently signed to MLR clubs.  This includes 9 players from Canada’s only MLR franchise the Toronto Arrows.  Jones credits the continued growth and evolution of the league which provides a full-time professional training environment for Canadian players.

Jones said, “The MLR is providing our players the opportunity to consistently train and play at a high level. We are very excited to assemble for the first time since our high-performance camp last November.  It’s been a massive undertaking in coordinating the logistics of assembling these players in a COVID-world, but we feel privileged and humbled to have the opportunity to play these critical Rugby World Cup qualification preparation matches.” 

Matt Heaton (Rugby ATL), Ben LeSage (Toronto Arrows), and Lucas Rumball (Toronto Arrows) have been named Captains for the July matches.  Jones has selected 11 uncapped players to the squad including Foster DeWitt, Liam Murray, Reegan O’Gorman, Tyler Rowland, Michael Smith, Ross Braude, Fraser Hurst, Spencer Jones, Lachlan Kratz, Quinn Ngawati, and Isaac Olsen.  There are 18 players in the national 7s program that have not been considered for selection as they focus on final Olympic preparation and selection.

Jones added, “This is an outstanding opportunity for these young players to test themselves and perform against two very high-quality opponents.  The July matches are critical for our team as we prepare for our long-term goal of Rugby World Cup qualification this Fall competing against USA and South American opponents.”

The squad will assemble in a designated RFU venue in England where they will be based for the duration of the tour.  

Canadian broadcast details will be announced at a later date.




  • Lucas Albornoz - Burnaby, BC - Houston SaberCats
  • Foster Dewitt - Courtenay, BC - RC National Development Academy
  • Matt Heaton - Godmanchester, QC - Rugby ATL
  • Eric Howard - Ottawa, ON - NOLA Gold
  • Jake Ilnicki - Williams Lake, BC - Seattle Seawolves
  • Cole Keith - Sussex, NB - Toronto Arrows
  • Conor Keys - Stittsville, ON - Rugby ATL
  • Josh Larsen - Parksville, BC - New England Free Jacks
  • Liam Murray - Langley, BC - Houston SaberCats
  • Reegan O'Gorman - Vancouver, BC - Austin Gilgronis
  • Andrew Quattrin - Holland Landing, ON - Toronto Arrows
  • Tyler Rowland - Mississauga, ON - Toronto Arrows
  • Lucas Rumball - Scarborough, ON - Toronto Arrows
  • Djustice Sears-Duru - Oakville, ON - Seattle Seawolves
  • Michael Smith - White Rock, BC - San Diego Legion


  • Ross Braude - Pretoria, SA - Toronto Arrows
  • Cole Davis - Calgary, AB - Austin Gilgronis
  • Doug Fraser - Ladysmith, BC - Old Glory DC
  • Fraser Hurst - Vancouver, BC - Utah Warriors
  • Spencer Jones - Cambridge, NZ - Toronto Arrows
  • Will Kelly - Ancaster, ON - Toronto Arrows
  • Lachlan Kratz - Victoria, BC - NOLA Gold
  • Benjamin LeSage - Calgary, AB - Toronto Arrows
  • Kainoa Lloyd - Mississauga, ON - RC National Development Academy
  • Peter Nelson - Dungannon, UK - Mont de Mason
  • Quinn Ngawati - Victoria, BC - Rugby United New York
  • Patrick Parfrey - St. John's, NL - Toronto Arrows
  • Will Percillier - Victoria, BC - Stade Francais
  • Robbie Povey - Calgary, AB - Houston SaberCats
  • Isaac Olsen - Victoria, BC - RC National Development Academy

Injured or Unavailable for selection:

  • Tyler Ardron, Castres Olympique
  • Kyle Bailey, NOLA Gold
  • Matt Beukeboom, Bourg-en-Bresse
  • Luke Campbell, Old Glory DC
  • Nick Carson, University of Victoria
  • Tyler Duguid, Montpellier
  • Evan Olmstead, Biarritz Olympique
  • Lindsey Stevens, LA Giltinis
  • Matt Tierney, Castres Olympique




About Rugby Canada:

Rugby Canada is the national governing body of the sport of Rugby Union in Canada. They administer and operate Men’s and Women’s Senior and Junior National programs in both rugby XV’s and 7s, as well as govern the Club and community game for more than 30,000 registered participants from coast to coast in conjunction with ten Provincial Union members.

Rugby Canada is headquartered at the Al Charron National Training Centre in Langford, BC, with staff also working from Vancouver, Toronto and Ottawa. Rugby Canada business operations, programs and events are delivered nationwide, including the internationally recognized HSBC Canada Sevens annual tournaments.

For more information, please contact: