Match day roster confirmed for Canada’s Men’s U20s clash with Chile at U20s Canada Conference

Rugby 15s U20 Men

Kickoff times changed for remaining fixtures.

Canada’s Men’s U20s’ match day roster has been confirmed for the team’s second round-robin fixture of the U20s Canada Conference against Chile.

Following a revision to the kickoff times for the tournament’s remaining matches, Head Coach Adam Roberts’ side will now face Chile at 6:15 p.m. Eastern / 3:15 p.m. Pacific on Thursday, August 18 at the University of Guelph. That follows Uruguay versus Zimbabwe which now kicks off at 3:30 p.m. Eastern / 12:30 p.m. Pacific. The full revised tournament schedule can be found below.

Canada go into the game on the back of an opening-round, 32-24 defeat to Zimbabwe, while Chile were beaten 27-3 by Uruguay in their first match. Both teams will be aiming to make amends in this fixture and put themselves back in the running to claim the championship.

Roberts has made several changes to the starting XV which took on Zimbabwe. Remaining in the lineup, though, are the three try-scorers – Relmu Wilson-Valdes, Mehdi Porchet and Ethan Fryer. Meanwhile, Jamin Hodgkins, who started at fly half in the first match and struck a number of successful conversions, will line up at full back with James Biss coming in at No. 10.

"From the moment we finished our first game, we've been open and analyzed where we fell short,” Roberts commented. “The boys' renewed energy and desire to return committed to training is a testament to their character. Their skills and pace are advancing at every training session and they are ready to rock Chile."

This is a non-ticketed event and fans who wish to attend the matches are encouraged to do so.


Match Day 2 - August 18, 2022

Kickoff 3:30 p.m. ET: Uruguay vs. Zimbabwe
Kickoff 6:15 p.m. ET: Canada vs Chile

Match Day 3 – August 23, 2022

Kickoff 3:30 p.m. ET: Chile vs. Zimbabwe
Kickoff 6:15 p.m. ET: Canada vs Uruguay


The U20s Canada Conference 2022 will be streamed LIVE on Rugby Canada’s YouTube channel. Click here to access the page where the livestream will be located.


1. Mehdi Porchet (Geneva, Switzerland) - Stade Montois RFC
2. David Scollon (Mississauga, ON) – University of Guelph
3. Payton Teneycke (Brandon, MB) - UBC
4. Logan Weidner (North Vancouver, BC) RC Narbonne
5. Alastair Bruce (Cape Town, South Africa) - Pacific Pride
6. Sol Jacques (Penticton, BC) - UBC
7. Ethan Fryer (Seattle, USA) - Pacific Pride / New England Free Jacks
8. Relmu Wilson-Valdes (Nelson, BC) - UBC
9. Sam Reimer (Ajax, ON) - Pacific Pride / Toronto Arrows
10. James Biss (London, England) - Durham University
11. Alastair Marshall (Hudson Bay, SK) - UBC
12. Talon McMullin (White Rock, BC) - Bayside RFC
13. Liam Bowman (Oakville, ON) - US Montauban
14. Kobe Faust (Uxbridge, ON) – University of Guelph / Toronto Arrows
15. Jamin Hodgkins (Bermuda) - Cardiff Met University


16. Michael Di Lella Jr. (Orono, ON) – University of Guelph
17. Joe McNulty (North Vancouver, BC) - Capilano RFC
18. Ethan Jurgeneit (Barrie, ON) - Trinity Western University
19. Lukas Scheck (Regina, SK) – Canada’s Senior Men’s Sevens
20. Adam Doyle (Kingston, ON) - Queens University
21. Caden Wilson (Vancouver, BC) - UBC
22. Mathew Klimchuk (Regina, SK) - Pacific Pride
23. Jack East (Wanaka, New Zealand) - Pacific Pride