Canada’s U20 Men’s Rugby Team loses 33-18 to the USA in first of two matches

Rugby 15s U20 Men

The two-match series to determine the North America berth for the 2024 World Rugby U20 Trophy got under way on Saturday at Shawnigan Lake School, with the United States taking a 33-18 win over Canada.  

The two-match series to determine the North America berth for the 2024 World Rugby U20 Trophy got under way on Saturday at Shawnigan Lake School, with the United States taking a 33-18 win over Canada.  

The United States struck first to take a 7-0 lead, but Canada remained determined, winning scrums and closing the gap to 7-6 thanks to two penalty kicks from Matthew Bennett.

Canada’s first try of the game came at the end of the first half, with Patrick Kirwan dodging the American defence to get the ball over the line and give Canada an 11-7 lead at half-time.

A yellow card to the United States early in the second half gave Canada the player advantage, with Garin Schroeder scoring off a maul in the 50th minute and Bennett converting the try to go up 18-7.

The United States pushed back, scoring twice to take a slight 19-18 lead. The United States were assessed another yellow card, but Canada was unable to capitalize on the opportunity. Two tries from Corbin Smith scored in quick succession in the final minutes of the match gave the USA the 33-18 win.

"I'm obviously disappointed in the fact that we didn't get the result in our favour, but feeling very happy about the way we approached it. Tactically we stuck to a plan. Unfortunately we made some unforced errors that gave the USA momentum at key times in the match," said Christiaan Esterhuizen, Head Coach of Canada's U20 Men's Rugby Team. "When we got going, in the scrums, we won about 10 penalties, so that was a very strong performance by our pack. We were looking for dominant set piece and I think that's what we got from the guys. If we can cut down forced errors and execute our kicking game a bit better, I think we can turn this result around."

The second match in the two-match series, the winner of which is determined by aggregate score, will take place on Thursday June 6 at 7:00pm PT / 10:00pm ET at Starlight Stadium in Langford, BC. Entry is by donation, will all proceeds benefiting the U20 men’s program.

The June 1 match versus the United States is available for viewing here.

June 1 vs the United States

1. Justin Tasse (Calgary, AB) - Calgary Hornets / Bowness High School
2. Jeffrey Young (Toronto, ON) - Toronto Nomads / Bedwas RFC
3. Brighton Feldman (Langford, BC) - Westshore / University of Victoria
4. Ryan Cozens (Sidmouth, ENG) - Sidmouth RFC / Cardiff Metropolitan University 
5. Daragh Doyle (Dublin, IRE) - Clontarf Rugby Club
6. Grant Meadows (Richmond Hill, ON) - Aurora Barbarians RFC / Brock University 
7. Garin Schroeder (Stoney Creek, ON) - Burlington Centaurs / Western University
8. Olly Wiseman (London, ENG) - Cardiff Metropolitan University 
9. Patrick Kirwan (Vancouver, BC) - Meralomas 
10. Matthew Bennett (Victoria, BC) - University of Victoria
11. Morgan Di Nardo (Toronto, ON) - Toronto City Rugby / University of Victoria
12. Jimmy Leach (London, ENG) - Chinnor RFC / Brunel University 
13. Lockhart MacGregor (Abbotsford, BC) - Abbotsford Panthers / University of Victoria
14. Spencer Cotie (Victoria, BC) - Castaway Wanderers / University of Victoria 
15. Ben Greenstein (Vancouver, BC) - UBCOB Ravens / Queen's University


16. Noah Kynaston (Victoria, BC) - Castaway Wanderers
17. Dylan Shaw (Toronto, ON) - Toronto Scottish RFC / University of Guelph
18. Charles Trollip (Guelph, ON) - Brantford Harlequins / University of Guelph
19. Liam Kinghorn (Calgary, AB) - Calgary Irish / University of British Columbia 
20. Jaxson Jones (Duncan , BC) - Cowichan Rugby Club / University of Victoria
21. Marco Mitchell (Vancouver, BC) - UBCOB Ravens / University of British Columbia
22. Thomas Wells Richards (Toronto, ON) - Balmy Beach RFC / University of Waterloo 
23. Caleb Seumanutafa (White Rock, BC) - Bayside Sharks / University of British Columbia

Angus Dewar (Vancouver, BC) - Queen's University 
Austin Allen (Thornbury, ON) - Georgian Bay Titans / Trent University 
Brady Howlett (Maple Ridge, BC) - Abbotsford Rugby Club / Trinity Western University
Eric Vann (Burlington, ON) - Burlington Centaurs / University of Toronto
Finlay Kennedy (Ringwood, ENG) - Bournemouth RFC
Kyle Finan (Barnsley, ENG) - Red Deer Titans / Trinity Western University 
Presley Bosa (Vancouver, BC) - Capilano RFC / Western University 
Riku Konrad (Surrey, BC) - UBCOB Ravens  

Ty Driscoll (Victoria, BC) - Pacific Pride 
Brodie Lowry (Montreal, QC) - Beaconsfield Rugby Club / Royal Military College 
Thorson Noble (Victoria, BC) - University of British Columbia