Scotland defeat Canada in Summer Series opener

Rugby 15s Senior Men

Scotland walked away with a 48-10 victory in the Summer Series opener at the Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, Alberta.

Scotland started the better of the two sides at the Commonwealth Stadium and were rewarded with an early penalty, which lead to the first points of the game, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne converting from inside the twenty-two.

The Canadian team did not have much time to settle, as the well-drilled Scottish outfit quickly found their feet. Byron McGuigan was first to cross the line for the Scots, diving over for a well-worked try.

Canada gave the 12 000 plus fans something to cheer about when Shane O'Leary kicked Canada's first penalty in the 13th minute. The score remained 8-3 for the next twenty minutes, both teams opting for a more direct style of play with some big tackles coming in from both sides. Canada's Noah Barker receiving a yellow card for taking a player out without the ball.

Scotland extended their lead in the 33rd minute with Scottish flyhalf, Ruaridh Jackson touching down for the visitors second try of the night. Hidalgo-Clyne adding the extras to give Scotland a 15-3 lead at the break.

The second-half started in similar fashion to the first, with substitute hooker, George Turner going over for his first and Scotland's third try of the night. 

Canada had to wait until the 47th minute to get their first try of the night. A spell of pressure inside the Scottish twenty-two resulting in the ref awarding a penalty try for Canada and a yellow card for Ruaridh Jackson.

Scotland pulled away in the last 20 minutes, as Magnus Bradbury and a further two tries from George Turner put the game well out of reach for Canada. George Turner completing his hat-trick. Lewis Carmichael put the nail in the coffin in the 79th minute as Scotland scored their 7th five-pointer of the night.

Full-time: Canada 10-48 Scotland

Scoring Report:


Tries - Penalty try.
Penalties - Shane O'Leary

Yellow cards - Noah Barker

Tries - Byron McGuigan, Ruaridh Jackson, George Turner (3), Magnus Bradbury, Lewis Carmichael
Conversions - Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (2), Blair Kinghorn (3)
Penalties - Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (1)

Yellow cards - Ruaridh Jackson

Canada roster:

1. Noah Barker – James Bay AA/BC Bears (Courtenay, BC)
2. Ray Barkwill – Seattle Seawolves/Ontario Blues (Niagara Falls, ON)
3. Jake Ilnicki – Yorkshire Carnegie/BC Bears (Williams Lake, BC)
4. Paul Ciulini – Aurora Barbarians/Ontario Blues (Vaughan, ON)
5. Evan Olmstead – Auckland/Prairie Wolf Pack (Vancouver, BC)
6. Lucas Rumball – Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues (Mississauga, ON)
7. Matt Heaton – Darlington Mowden Park/Atlantic Rock (Godmanchester, QC)
8. Luke Campbell – James Bay AA/BC Bears (Victoria, BC)
9. Phil Mack – Co-Captain, Seattle Seawolves/BC Bears (Victoria, BC)
10. Shane O’Leary – Ealing Trailfinders (Cork, Ireland)
11. DTH van der Merwe – Captain, Glasgow Warriors (Victoria, BC)
12. Nick Blevins – Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary, AB)
13. Doug Fraser – Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears (Ladysmith, BC)
14. Jeff Hassler – Unattached/Prairie Wolf Pack (Okotoks, AB)
15. Pat Parfrey – Swilers RFC/Atlantic Rock (St. John’s, NL)
16. Eric Howard – New Orleans Gold/Ontario Blues (Ottawa, ON)
17. Djustice Sears-Duru – Unattached/Ontario Blues (Oakville, ON)
18. Cole Keith – James Bay AA/Atlantic Rock (Sussex, NB)
19. Conor Keys – UVIC Vikes/Atlantic Rock (Stittsville, ON)
20. Dustin Dobravsky – Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears (Hanover, Germany) 
21. Andrew Ferguson – Oakville Crusaders/Ontario Blues (Mississauga, ON)
22. Cole Davis – Calgary Saints/Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary, AB)
23. Theo Sauder – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)

Summer Series Schedule:

June 16th
Canada vs. Russia
Twin Elm Rugby Park
Ottawa, ON
Kick off: 4pm ET/1pm PT

June 23rd
Canada vs. USA
Wanderers Ground
Halifax, NS
Kick off: 4pm local time (3pm ET/12pm PT)

Tickets for the 2018 Summer Series can be purchased by clicking here>