Team set for Kitakyushu

Bernadette Larose
Rugby 7s Senior Women

LANGFORD, BC (April 8, 2019) – National Senior Women’s Sevens head coach John Tait has named his roster that will travel to Kitakyushu, Japan for the fourth stop on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series on April 20-21st, 2019.

Canada is coming off a fifth-place finish in Sydney and are currently tied for third with Australia. Last year saw a disappointing performance in Kitakyushu for the team, finishing outside the top eight—the only time doing so in their history.

Canada will be gunning for a podium finish that would put them in good position to claim a ticket to Tokyo 2020—awarded to the top-four finishers at the series end.

“We’re as healthy as we’ve been in a really long time. This is probably the toughest selection we’ve had since Rio,” said head coach Tait.

Captaining the squad will be veteran Ghislaine Landry who leads the points-scoring race this season with 106 points through the first three events. Joining her at the top of the rankings is Bianca Farella who sits second in tries scored with 18 to date—only two behind New Zealand’s Michaela Blyde.

Making her return to the lineup for the first time since Rio 2016 is Quebec City-native Karen Paquin. Coming back from injury, Paquin returned to action for the first time in March on a midseason development tour with the Maple Leafs.

Kitakyushu comes just ahead of Canada’s hometown series in Langford, BC on May 11-12th, a tournament that has recently been renewed into the 2019/2020 season.

Canada will face off against Spain, China, and Australia on day one of competition in Pool B. Fans can watch every minute of competition LIVE on CBC Sports.


Tickets for the HSBC Canada Women’s Sevens are going fast, so get yours today at 


Canada Roster:

1. Olivia Apps, Lindsay RFC (Lindsay, ON)

2. Britt Benn, Guelph Redcoats (Napanee, ON)

3. Emma Chown, Aurora Barbarians (Barrie, ON)

4. Caroline Crossley, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)

5. Bianca Farella, Town of Mount Royal RCF (Montreal, QC)

6. Julia Greenshields, Sarnia Saints (Sarnia, ON)

7. Ghislaine Landry, Toronto Scottish (Toronto, ON)- Captain

8. Kaili Lukan, Unattached (Barrie, ON)

9. Kayla Moleschi, Williams Lake Rustlers (Williams Lake, BC)

10. Breanne Nicholas, London St. Georges RFC (Blenheim, ON)

11. Karen Paquin, Castaway Wanderers / CRQ (Quebec City, QC)

12. Keyara Wardley, Okotoks Lions (Vulcan, AB)

13. Charity Williams, Markham Irish (Toronto, ON)


Canada’s Kitakyushu Schedule:

Canada vs. Spain- (April 19th)10:14pm ET/ 7:14pm PT

Canada vs. China- (April 20th) 12:58am ET/ (April 19th) 9:58pm PT

Canada vs. Australia- (April 20th) 4:04am ET/ 1:04am PT