Tickets

Canada’s men’s and women’s rugby sevens teams set for 2019 Pan American Games

Rugby 7s Senior Men, Rugby 7s Senior Women

LANGFORD, B.C. (July 16, 2019) – Rugby Canada and the Canadian Olympic Committee have selected the men’s and women’s rugby sevens teams that will represent Canada at the Pan American Games in Lima, Peru this summer.

The men’s team is coming fresh off the Rugby Americas North (RAN) Sevens tournament where they secured Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualification in a 40-5 win over Jamaica in the cup final. The back-to-back Pan Am Games gold medallists will look to add to their record as they face Argentina, Uruguay and Jamaica in Pool B.

“We’re incredibly excited to compete at the Pan-Ams, especially off the back of our Olympic qualifier,” said men’s head coach Henry Paul. “We’re coming in defending champions and the boys are hungry. This is a great opportunity to keep building on our systems and go up against some great competition.”

On the women’s side, this will be their first competition since clinching Olympic qualification in mid-June when they finished the 2018-19 World Series in third place in the overall standings. 

Competing in Pool B, they’ll take on Brazil, Peru and Mexico.

With both teams hoping to repeat their gold medal performances from TORONTO 2015, the Pan Am Games will be a pivotal test for young talent ahead of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games next year.

“We’ve got a great mix of talent on this Pan American Games team,” said women’s team head coach Morgan Williams. “We have some exciting up-and-coming talent as well as World Series experienced veterans. This will be a great opportunity for exposure and experience on a big stage, especially as we look to build to Tokyo 2020.”.

Matches will take place July 26 to 28 at the Complejo Deportivo Villa Maria del Triunfo.

The men and women selected to compete at Lima 2019 are:


Women:

1. Delaney Aikens (Briercrest, Sask.) -  University of British Columbia Thunderbirds

2. Pam Buisa (Gatineau, Que.) - Ottawa Irish 

3. Emma Chown (Barrie, Ont.) - Aurora Barbarians 

4. Caroline Crossley (Victoria, B.C.) - Castaway Wanderers 

5. Olivia De Couvreur (Ottawa, Ont.) - Ottawa Irish 

6. Asia Hogan-Rochester (Toronto, Ont.) - York Lions 

7. Sara Kaljuvee (Ajax, Ont.) - Toronto Scottish 

8. Tausani Levale (Abbotsford, B.C.) - Abbotsford RFC 

9. Kaili Lukan (Barrie, Ont.) - Unattached 

10. Kayla Moleschi (Williams Lake, B.C.) - Williams Lake Rustlers 

11. Breanne Nicholas (Blenheim, Ont.) - London St. Georges RFC 

12. Temitiope Ogunjimi (Calgary, Alta.) - Calgary Hornets 

 

1. Morgan Williams (Victoria, B.C.) - Head Coach


Men:

1. Phil Berna (Vancouver, B.C.) – University of British Columbia Thunderbirds

2. Cooper Coats (Halifax, N.S.) – Halifax Tars 

3. Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby, B.C.) – Burnaby Lake RFC

4. Sean Duke (Vancouver, B.C.) – Unattached

5. Nathan Hirayama (Richmond, B.C.) – Unattached

6. Harry Jones (West Vancouver, B.C.) – Capilano RFC

7. Isaac Kaay (Kamloops, B.C.) – UVIC Vikes

8. Patrick Kay (Duncan, B.C.)  – Castaway Wanderers 

9. Luke McCloskey (Cranbrook, B.C.) – Castaway Wanderers 

10. Josiah Morra (Toronto, Ont.) – Toronto Saracens

11. Brennig Prevost (Victoria, B.C.) – Castaway Wanderers 

12. Adam Zaruba (North Vancouver, B.C.) – Capilano RFC 


1. Henry Paul (Victoria, B.C.) - Head Coach

 

Canada’s Schedule (Broadcast TBC):

July 26

W: Canada vs. Mexico- 12:05pm ET/ 9:05am PT

M:Canada vs. Uruguay- 1:20pm ET/ 10:20am PT

 

July 27

W: Canada vs. Peru- 12:05pm ET/ 9:05am PT

M: Canada vs. Jamaica- 1:20pm ET/ 10:20am PT

W: Canada vs. Brazil- 4:15pm ET/ 1:15pm PT

M: Canada vs. Argentina- 5:55pm ET/ 2:55pm PT

 

July 28

Finals- TBD


-30-