Tickets

Canada’s Sevens Teams close pool play with wins on Day 1 of the Dubai Sevens

Rugby 7s Senior Men, Rugby 7s Senior Women

The opening round of the women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023, and second round of the men’s series, got under way at the Sevens Stadium in Dubai with both of Canada’s teams finishing pool play with one win and two losses.

The opening round of the women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023, and second round of the men’s series, got under way at the Sevens Stadium in Dubai with both of Canada’s teams finishing pool play with one win and two losses.

Both squads faced the USA to kick off the tournament, starting with the women’s team. Down two scores heading into the second half, Bianca Farella got Canada on the board with a try off a scrum, followed by a successful conversion from Breanne Nicholas. Despite strong efforts to even the score, the Americans took a 12-7 win.

Canada then faced Australia, the reigning Rugby World Cup Sevens and women’s Sevens Series champions, battling hard, but struggling to score in a 33-0 loss.

The women’s team ended pool play on a high note with a win over China. Keyara Wardley struck early, followed by back-to-back tries from Charity Williams. Krissy Scurfield further extended Canada’s scoring streak with a try in the thirteenth minute of play. With three conversions from Olivia Apps, Canada won 26-10.

With one win and two losses in Pool A, Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team returns to action on Day 2 in the ninth place semi finals. They will face Brazil on Friday December 2 at 10:50 p.m. PT / Saturday December 3 at 1:50 a.m. ET. The winner of this game will play for ninth place on Saturday December 3 at 2:22 a.m. PT / 5:22 a.m. ET, and the loser will play for eleventh place at 2:00 a.m. PT / 5:00 a.m. ET.

Canada’s Men’s Sevens Team had a similar showing in pool play, opening with a loss to the USA and finishing with a win. In their opening match, the USA struck first, but Phil Berna replied shortly after. With the Americans leading 19-7 early in the second half, Josiah Morra capitalized on a turnover to narrow the gap. Two successful conversions from Brock Webster helped Canada increase their score, but despite a scoring opportunity in the final play, the team dropped their first game 19-14.

Berna also led the way for Canada in the team’s second match against Samoa, scoring Canada’s lone try in a 33-5 loss in the first half.

While Japan took a 14-0 lead early in the final pool play match, Canada erupted with four unanswered tries and four successful conversions to take a 28-14 win. Jake Thiel opened scoring for Canada, followed by Josiah Morra’s second and third tries of the tournament and David Richard’s first. Cooper Coats and Thomas Isherwood were perfect on the conversions, scoring two apiece.

With one win and two losses in Pool D, Canada’s Men’s Sevens Team returns to action on Day 2 in the ninth place quarter finals. They will face Kenya on Friday December 2 at 9:22 p.m. PT / Saturday December 3 at 12:22 a.m. ET.

For the latest scores, results and schedule, visit the official website: world.rugby/sevens-series