32 players named to England tour roster as Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team prepares for re-match with the Red Roses

Rugby 15s Senior Women

Head Coach Kevin Rouet has named 32 players for Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team’s upcoming tour to England, which will serve as preparation for the inaugural WXV competition taking place in New Zealand this October and November. 

Head Coach Kevin Rouet has named 32 players for Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team’s upcoming tour to England, which will serve as preparation for the inaugural WXV competition taking place in New Zealand this October and November.  

Having last met nearly a year ago in the 2021 Rugby World Cup (played in 2022) semi-final, Canada and first in the world ranked England will play two test matches at the end of September. The first will be played at Sandy Park, the home of the Exeter Chiefs, on Saturday September 23 at 6:30 a.m. PT / 9:30 a.m. ET (2:30 p.m. local time).  

The second match will kick off on Saturday September 30 at 7:00 a.m. PT / 10:00 a.m. ET (3:00 p.m. local time) at StoneX Stadium in London, home of the Saracens.  

Nine players on Canada’s roster currently compete on Premier 15s teams in England, including three with the Exeter Chiefs (DaLeaka Menin, Emily Tuttosi, Alexandra Tessier) and three with the Saracens (Alex Ellis, McKinley Hunt, Sophie de Goede).  

Paige Farries is in her fourth season with the Worcester Warriors, as is Sara Svoboda with the Loughborough Lightning. Making her Premier 15s debut this season is Tyson Beukeboom, who has joined the Ealing Trailfinders in their inaugural season. 

Fresh off qualifying for the Paris 2024 Olympics are seven players who competed in the rugby sevens regional qualification event in Langford in August, including Krissy Scurfield, who could earn her first cap with Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team in England. 

Three other players could also earn their first caps. Julia Omokhuale took part in Canada’s training camp ahead of the Pacific Four Series in Ottawa this July before competing against the USA with Canada’s U23 Women’s Rugby Team in Boston, and Ashlynn Smith was named to Canada's Ottawa squad, but was not selected for either match day roster. Caroline Crossley has represented Canada's Women's Sevens Team on the World Rugby Sevens Series and at the 2019 Pan American Games, 2018 Commonwealth Games and 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens.  

Returning to competition with Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team for the first time since 2018 is 2014 Rugby World Cup silver medallist and 2014 Women’s Rugby Player of the Year Magali Harvey. Recently signed with France’s Stade Bordelais, Harvey spent the 2022-23 season with Queen’s University and took part in Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team’s international summer showcase

“We have a full and exciting fall ahead of us. These two test matches against England are very important in our preparation for WXV and the 2025 Rugby World Cup,” said Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team Head Coach Kevin Rouet. “Since last having the team together in Ottawa for the Pacific Four Series, we have had a number of players integrated with the sevens program in Langford and many preparing for seasons abroad in England and France. We are greatly looking forward to regrouping once again for what will be two challenging, top-level matches.” 

Tickets are on sale on the England Rugby website, and more information on how to watch and follow in Canada will be announced shortly. 


Alexandria Ellis (Ottawa, ON) – Barrhaven Scottish / Saracens   
Ashlynn Smith (Abbotsford, BC) – University of Calgary 
Caroline Crossley (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers  
Courtney Holtkamp (Rimbey, AB) – Red Deer Titans Rugby 
DaLeaka Menin (Vulcan, AB) – Exeter Chiefs  
Emily Tuttosi (Souris, MB) – Calgary Hornets / Exeter Chiefs 
Fabiola Forteza (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais 
Gabrielle Senft (Regina, SK) – Castaway Wanderers
Gillian Boag (Calgary, AB) – Capilano RFC 
Julia Omokhuale (Calgary, AB) – Calgary Irish Rugby Club / University of Calgary 
Laetitia Royer (Loretteville, QC) – St-Anne-de-Bellevue / ASM Romagnat 
McKinley Hunt (King City, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Saracens 
Mikiela Nelson (North Vancouver, BC) – UBC Rugby / Capilano Rugby 
Olivia DeMerchant (Mapledale, NB) – Halifax Tars RFC 
Sara Cline (Edmonton, AB) – Leprechaun Tigers 
Sara Svoboda (Belleville, ON) – Brantford Harlequins / Belleville Bulldogs / Loughborough Lightning 
Sophie de Goede (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers RFC / Saracens 
Tyson Beukeboom (Uxbridge, ON) – Cowichan RFC / Ealing Trailfinders 

Alexandra Tessier (Sainte-Clotilde-de-Horton, QC) – Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC / Exeter Chiefs 
Claire Gallagher (Caledon, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / University of Ottawa 
Fancy Bermudez (Edmonton, AB) – NorWester Athletic Associations / Westshore RFC 
Florence Symonds (Hong Kong) – University of British Columbia 
Justine Pelletier (Rivière-du-Loup, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais 
Krissy Scurfield (Canmore, AB) – University of Victoria 
Madison Grant (Cornwall, ON) – Cornwall Claymores 
Magali Harvey (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Queen’s University / Stade Bordelais 
Olivia Apps (Lindsay, ON) – Lindsay RFC 
Paige Farries (Red Deer, AB) – Westshore RFC / Worcester Warriors  
Sabrina Poulin (St-Georges, QC) – TMRRFC / Eibar Rugby Taldea 
Sarah-Maude Lachance (Victoriaville, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Lons Section Paloise 
Shoshanah Seumanutafa (White Rock, BC) – University of British Columbia 
Taylor Perry (Oakville, ON) – Oakville Crusaders 

Abby Duguid (Edmonton, AB) – University of Lethbridge 
Alysha Corrigan (Charlottetown, PEI) – CRFC 
Brittany Kassil (Guelph, ON) – Guelph Redcoats 
Chloe Daniels (Sutton, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Queen’s University 
Corinne Fréchette (Saint-Zéphirin-de-Courval, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Université Laval 
Emma Taylor (Scotsburn, NS) – Halifax RFC / Saracens 
Holly Phillips (Canmore, AB) - Calgary Irish / Bristol Bears 
Julia Schell (Uxbridge, ON) – Guelph Redcoats / Castaway Wanderers / Ealing Trailfinders 
Mahalia Robinson (Fulford, QC) – TMRRFC / Concordia Université 
Mya Brubacher (West Montrose, ON) – Kingston Panthers / Queen’s University 

Brianna Miller 
Cassandra Tuffnail 
Karen Paquin 
Maya Montiel 
Pamphinette Buisa 
Sara Kaljuvee