Rugby 15s

  • What is Rugby 15s?

    In the traditional form of the game, players are introduced to the full game of rugby, the core of the sport. Rugby 15s features 15 players per side with eight replacements. There are eight forwards and seven backs on a team.

    A try is worth five points with a conversion worth two. Penalty kicks and drop goals are both worth three points. If a player is sin-binned, they must sit out for 10 minutes.

    Games are played over 80 minutes in two halves of 40 minutes. Half time lasts 10 minutes.

  • Major International Competitions

    The biggest prize in rugby 15s is the Rugby World Cup, held every four years. Canada’s men have played in all eight editions of the tournament thus far, reaching the quarterfinals in 1991. On the women’s side, Canada finished second at the 2014 tournament and fourth in three straight tournaments (1998, 2002, 2006).

    Outside of the Rugby World Cup, Canada’s men’s and women’s teams compete in the annual June and November test windows where they battle other top nations for World Rugby ranking points. Canada’s men also play in the Americas Rugby Championship, a six-team tournament held annually in February and March.

Rugby 15s — Senior Men

CAN 33
CHL 17

Rugby 15s — Upcoming Fixtures

Senior Women

No upcoming games

U20 Women

No upcoming games

U20 Men

No upcoming games

U18 Women

No upcoming games

Billets

Rugby 15s

  • QU’EST-CE QUE LE RUGBY XV?

    Dans la forme traditionnelle du jeu, les joueurs sont introduits à la version complète du rugby, qui est la base du sport. Le rugby XV oppose 15 joueurs par équipe avec huit remplacements. Il y a huit avants et sept arrières au sein d’une équipe.

    Un essai vaut cinq points alors qu’une conversion en vaut deux. Les penalties et les drops valent chacun trois points. Si un joueur est envoyé au banc de punitions, il doit rester à l’écart pendant 10 minutes.

    Les matchs se jouent sur 80 minutes, soit deux demies de 40 minutes. La mi-temps dure 10 minutes.

  • GRANDES COMPÉTITIONS INTERNATIONALES

    Le trophée le plus convoité du rugby XV est la Coupe du Monde de Rugby qui se déroule aux quatre ans. L’équipe masculine du Canada a disputé les huit éditions du tournoi à ce jour, atteignant les quarts de finale en 1991. Chez les femmes, le Canada a pris le deuxième rang au tournoi de 2014 et le quatrième rang lors de trois éditions de suite (1998, 2002, 2006).

    Outre la Coupe du Monde de Rugby, les équipes masculine et féminine du Canada participent à des matchs internationaux chaque année aux mois de juin et de novembre contre les meilleures nations de rugby au monde pour amasser des points au classement de World Rugby. Le Canada dispute aussi le Championnat de rugby des Amériques, un tournoi masculin à six équipes  qui se déroule chaque année en février et en mars.

Rugby 15s — Sénior Hommes

2018 June Summer Series
USA 42
v
CAN 17

Rugby 15s — Matchs à venir

Sénior Hommes

Aucun match à venir

Sénior Femmes

Aucun match à venir

U20 Femmes

Aucun match à venir

U20 Hommes

Aucun match à venir

U19 Hommes

Aucun match à venir

U18 Femmes

Aucun match à venir

U18 Hommes

Aucun match à venir